Posted by: epsyck | August 11, 2007

Secret Pal Questionnaire

(has anyone every noticed how hard that is to spell?)

1. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with? What fibers do you absolutely *not* like?
I like to knit with pretty much everything. That being said, I’m not so much a fan of novelty yarns. They kind of annoy me. And I guess I’m partial to worsted weight and lower. Big chunky yarn gets on my nerves, and never looks good when I wear it. But wool and cotton/silk blends are a favorite.

2. What do you use to store your needles/hooks in?
At the moment, nothing. But when I get back to NYC where my sewing machine is stored I will be cutting up an old Czech army overcoat and making it into a needle case. Hopefully it will turn out as nicely as I’m envisioning.

3. How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced?
I taught myself to knit maybe 5 years ago? And I’ve been teaching myself new skills as I need them. I’m going to say I’m low intermediate maybe? I had to stop knitting for a few years because of hand problems brought on by too much flute playing, but I’ve gotten back into knitting seriously in the past two years. So I can do things like short rows and I absolutely love cables, but I hesitate to go higher than low intermediate since I stink at colorwork.

4. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list?
I do actually. My Amazon wishlist is at http://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/1PVTBHE71WTKA/ I plan to be updating it within the next two weeks (I’ve been abroad so it hasn’t been changed for a few months).

5. What’s your favorite scent?
I love Amber, and spicy things. But I can’t have anything that’s artificially scented (i.e. most perfumes). I apparently have a crazily strong sense of smell and only smell the chemicals. But anything natural is yummy! (And I can’t have candles, not that I don’t like them, but I’m in my last year of college and our dorms don’t allow candles due to some dumb girl gutting two floors of a building when she left a candle in front of her drapes.)

6. Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy?
I have an incredible sweet tooth, but please don’t send me candy! I’m attempting to eat better, which means I’m cutting sugar 😦 That being said, any sort of maple candy or maple sugar would be amazing (it’s an addiction). And anything honey flavored. Come to think of it, if someone could find Cadbury Crunchies I certainly wouldn’t turn them down…

7. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do? Do you spin?
I like to sew (and although I used to be really good, I’m just getting back into it) and I’m attempting to learn to spin with a drop spindle, but it is sort of touch and go at this point. I also love to cook and bake. And some embroidery and such. And I took a jewelery class a few months ago that was fun. So basically, if it can be connected to food or fashion, I’ve probably tried it.

8. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD)
I love jazz and swing music, choral/religious music as well, rock, and classical. So I guess I’m open to most types of music (not a huge R&B fan, just can’t get into it). And my computer(s) can play anything! At least anything I’ve found so far…

9. What’s your favorite color(s)? Any colors you just can’t stand?
I love dark rich fall colors. Chocolate Brown, tan, etc. My absolute favorite is deep red, wine, burgundy, etc. I also love pink. Not a huge fan of pastels. I’m open to most colors if it’s a nice shade.

10. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets?
Right now I’m in my last year of college, so I’m dorming. That means my family (at least the one I live with) consists of 4 of my best friends and perhaps fish if I decide to buy a new aquarium. Other than that, my actual family lives about 300 miles away, and will soon include kittens!

11. Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos?
I love scarves, although mine tend to be large (think shawl worn as scarf) – I have a bit of a collection. Hats not so much, ponchos never. But mittens (especially when animal shaped or silly) are great. Nothing better to wear when shoveling the driveway or going grocery shopping.

12. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit?
I like to knit clothing. I guess maybe sweaters. Although I have had a spotty record on them (usually related to sizing – I’m actually reknitting something at the moment because of size problems). I’m dying to learn socks, and I’ve bought a book, but I’m a little bit intimidate still.

13. What are you knitting right now?
The boyfriend sweater (big huge sweater for my big huge boyfriend – Avast from knitty), the modern bustier from AlterKnits, and I’m swatching for a sweater and a cabled beret to match a scarf and handwarmers set I made. And in the next month I’ll start on the mommy blanket, a christmas present for my mom.

14. Do you like to receive handmade gifts?
Certain kinds of handmade gifts, yes. I love things like handmade cards and paper products. And if someone is a spinner I wouldn’t turn down something homespun… And something like homemade soaps/lotions/etc. are always fun too, as long as there aren’t tons of random chemicals.

15. Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Bamboo, aluminum, plastic?
I’ve got a set of denise interchangables, so I’m set on circular needles. But I’m currently working on picking up a full set of clover double pointed bamboo needles. I’m becoming quite attatched to them. I like how light they are.

16. Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift?
nope, that’ll be something that I pick up when I move into an actual house/apartment, as opposed to a dorm. But I don’t mind winding balls. I find it very Zen.

17. How old is your oldest UFO?
Hmm, well I’d say a few months. And that one is sort of being unravelled, so that I can knit it in the correct size. I tend to knit one thing at a time. And finish it.

18. What is your favorite holiday?
Hmmm, that’s a hard one. I love thanksgiving and Christmas. And easter. And the 4th of July. I guess I just love holidays. Each one of them has something fun and exciting about it, or a family tradition that makes it special.

19. Is there anything that you collect?
I collect llamas, but it’s difficult to buy me any, because I think I have almost every stuffed llama on the market.

20. Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have?
I’m currently in love with Interweave Knits, but I don’t have a subscription (I don’t have a subscription to anything actually). There are a few knitting books that I’m interested in, but right now I’m looking to pick up a good all around technique book. (If anyone has any suggestions I’m open to them!) And a book whose name I can’t remember at the moment, but it’ll be up on my amazon wishlist.

21. Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn?
I’m dying to learn to knit socks. But I have to finish my christmas presents before I can start anything fun like that. And I would also like to finally lose my fear of colorwork. I’m not sure why, but I have fear of knitting with many colors.

22. Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements?
I am not, but I hope to be soon! Ummm, I’m your basic size 8 women’s foot. Very average, very boring.

23. When is your birthday?
May 23

24. Are you on Ravelry? If so, what’s your ID?
I am! I set up the account while I was in Russia though, so it’s not really set up at the moment (soon!). But my ID is fiachasorcha

Leave a Reply

Categories

