Posted by: epsyck | August 26, 2007

oof

Lately I’ve been having issues with my right hand. It’s getting stiff and sore again lately, which is a very bad sign. I had serious problems a few years ago (4 years ago actually, exactly, since it was right before my senior year of high school). I actually wasn’t able to move my fingers more than a few centimeters, and I couldn’t close my hand in a fist (it’s not that I couldn’t because it hurt – it did mind you – but it was like the tendons just wouldn’t work and they wouldn’t move). I went through all sorts of tests, including the incredibly painful one that they use to test for carpal tunnel. But all of them came back normal. Every doctor I went to believed something was wrong, because they could feel the crunching bones in my wrist and could see how swollen it was. But none of them could figure out what was wrong.

I’m worried that the same problem is starting up again. This is the reason why I don’t play flute anymore, even though I used to be quite good, and I enjoyed it. My hands just can’t take it anymore. I’m worried that I’ll have to give something else up again. That being said, I’m going to wait and see. If it continues to get worse, I’ll schedule an appointment somewhere. This time at least I have an idea what it might be. I’m going to get my shoulder checked out, since several people I’ve seen since then have suggested a pinched nerve in my shoulder might have been to blame.

Leave a Reply

Categories

