Posted by: epsyck | September 14, 2007

super quick post before class

This weekend I’m going to atlantic city to celebrate my friend’s 21st birthday. This could either be awesome, or scary. We shall see.

Also, I’m not sure that the boyfriend sweater will be ready for christmas! I haven’t been able to knit as much as I would like lately (time mostly is taken up by classes and work and such). Buuuut…I may just have a solution. I got a whole bunch of stitch pattern books yesterday (there was a sale at barnes and noble and I had two coupons for extra discounts) and one stitch in particular caught my eye. It’s called a subway stitch (presumably because it looks like a subway system. Well that got me to thinking… My boy is obsessed with the NYC subway system, he grew up just outside the city (like 3 blocks from the official line) and went to college here. And for some reason he’s always loved trains. This isn’t so strange, and since it’s not as weird as some hobbies I’ve heard of, I encourage it. Last year he got a soso scarf from me (so named because it wasn’t that great, it was my reintroduction to knitting after two years off). So maybe this year I’ll design a subway scarf. It wouldn’t be that difficult. I mean my various books have info on how to do multicolor cables and intarsia. So what better way to try something that with a gift (also because it would get me excited to knit – you try knitting a 2XL mostly stockinette sweater for 6 months and still be excited to work on it lol).

But nowI need to RUN and brush my teeth and then RUN and get to russian class. Ever since they closed the 119th street entrance on my side of the street it’s become a pain in the butt to run an extra crosstown block over and then run back and then run up to the second floor on really uneven 100 year old marble spiral staircases (although they are the coolest things ever).

Leave a Reply

Categories

