Posted by: epsyck | December 1, 2007

state of knitting

I have finally worked out the sock problems I’ve been having. and I might end up with too much yarn. But that’s ok. Extra worsted weight cotton yarn is always good. I will possibly finish a sock tonight (I slept for 4 hours this afternoon after only getting like 2 hours of sleep last night).

Also, I bought two pairs of socks worth of yarn today. NAUGHTY. But oh well, it happens.

and I think I’m going to do some knitting for the Ships Project. It sends hand knit items to US troops stationed abroad. People laugh at me when I tell them, but I almost enlisted in the Marine Corps (there’s a part of me that does regret not joining up in some way…but health issues kept me out). And I know way too many people who ended up in the military (well, not too many, but I know more than any of my friends do). It’s a good way to use up some of the extra yarn I have hanging out around the house before I have to move, and I’d rather someone get it and use it rather than it sit in my closet (well wardrobe…it isn’t a closet) and then have to move it wherever I will be living next year.

But looking at the photos I forget how young most of the US military is (well…all militaries). They’re my age and younger. Which is tough. The first time I saw a notice in the paper that a local soldier had been KIA and he was younger than me it was a bit of a weird feeling.

BUT, now to work on those socks. So that I can be sure to get them finished.

Leave a Reply

Categories

