Posted by: epsyck | January 11, 2008

Have you ever had one of those days

Well…I’m having one today. And it’s only 9:30am.

First of all. No dairy products between 8am and noon (two hours of my antibiotic). This sucks. Try finding a (balanced) breakfast that does not include dairy products. Bet you can’t can you.

Also, the cats have apparently eaten my rings. This would be hilarious, except that it isn’t. One of them was a gift from Brett a few months after we started dating. It belonged to his grandmother and was a present from his mom. See the problem with losing it? (also I loved that ring, and it was special not only because it was one of my favorite stones – opal, but also because it was from him) They have also made off with my class ring – the one that was ridiculously expensive and that I got as a welcome home gift when I got back from Russia.

They have already destroyed a pair of earrings (which weren’t cheap either), so I’m terrified about these things. One is absolutely irreplaceable, and the other is realistically irreplaceable (Because of cost). It’s not like I just left them laying around either, they were on my bedside table. It’s just that because of a broken door (long story) I can’t keep them out of my room when I’m not in it (when I’m in it I just put a suitcase in front of the door and it keeps them out).

I guess the part that upsets me the most is that everyone in my family is acting like it’s no big deal. I know it’s just an object, and that I shouldn’t be so upset (this is what a family member told me), but I’m really angry that I’m supposed to be the one to just let it go. If this had happened to anyone else in the family they would be freaking out. And if I had said it was only an object all hell would have broken loose.

I still have some hope that they might turn up, but not much. With my luck they probably already ate it and it’s in the trash can to be thrown out (and you can’t just go through our litter pail because we have one of those diaper pails that puts the poo into a sausage shaped plastic bag). And even worse…garbage day way two days ago. So even if they were there, they’re long gone.

This is one of those times when I know it isn’t that bad. I know that I shouldn’t be this upset. I know it’s just a thing and that in the long run it won’t matter that much. But dammit, why does it always happen to my things? They destroyed my knitting needles, they lost my rings, they destroyed my earrings, they got the ritz crackers in my bed…this never happens to anyone else in the family.

Leave a Reply

Categories

