Posted by: epsyck | February 18, 2008

Lately I’ve been attempting to make myself look like more of an adult. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not as bad as most college kids. Thanks to going to school in Manhattan I never got into the habit of wearing sweats and PJs to class (not that I don’t live in them on the weekend, but m-f I’m generally in real clothes). This has led me to rediscovering my makeup collection. I have always loved makeup, although I rarely wear it. Don’t ask me why, but when people needed their makeup done they always came to me. I’m OCD enough and have quite the little collection that it always came out well. But I always had great skin and was thus able to get away with wearing very little-no makeup. Anyway, I still don’t have to wear much (and don’t wear all that much- just tinted moisturizer or pressed powder and maybe a little cheek stain). But I’ve started to enjoy the whole makeup thing again. I like to look nice, and I’ve found that it makes me feel better. I also rediscovered a tube of lipstick that I absolutely love. I don’t want to discuss how old it is, and how I know that I should have thrown it out (6 month expiration date, etc.) but dammit I love it and they don’t sell it anymore (they being MAC – I hate how they have great things that look awesome on me…and then they stop selling them). Anyway the whole point of this article is supposed to be that I found a lipstick that makes me happy and I didn’t even have to spend any money on it.

Also, I get to practice driving when I go home this weekend. I’ve decided that I am definitely renting a car when I go down to DC so that I can get around a little bit easier (yes it would probably be cheaper and moderately less stressful to taxi…but honestly I want to be in charge of my own destiny and would rather worry about driving than worry about getting to an interview on time because my taxi didn’t show up). I have definitely been spoiled by NYC living with the whole not having to drive thing. I’m hopefully going to get a decent few hours of driving time in this weekend, possibly even getting back on the highway for the first time since I got my license. (I should explain that one…I HATE highways. I dislike even being in a car on them. It probably has something to do with the fact that I was once almost run off the road by a tractor trailer. But I have to get used to it some day.)

Oh, and I have a phone interview for a job/tuition program at Pitt next year. Basically I will get part of my tuition paid as well as making minimum wage. So yay. I’m fairly sure I’ll get a job with them (I already have 4 years of experience after all) but I’m not counting on it quite yet.

And last but not least – the geek in me is loving the poem we’re memorizing in my Phonetics class. On the one hand, I hate memorization. On the other hand, I love being able to recite Russian poetry from memory (all Russians do it. don’t ask me why, but they do. even laborers can recite pushkin). And the one we’re learning now is the poem from which the whole “Window to the West/Window to Europe” idea came from.

Leave a Reply

Categories

