Posted by: epsyck | February 21, 2008

Minibreak…yay

Tomorrow morning I’m flying home for a few days (only staying til sunday – I have classes and work on monday). I am so looking forward to it, even if it does mean that I don’t get to sleep in (I’ve been up at 7 every morning this week, which isn’t a big deal except that I work until midnight….).

Anyway, I will be relaxing, working on my thesis (I WILL finish this chapter this weekend!), and hopefully finishing my red sock. But  mostly I will get to just pet the cats and sleep in a MUCH

_______________________________________________________

Fire drill! That is probably the thing I will not miss most about living in a dorm. Fire drills. Also, dumb girls who don’t leave during a fire drill and act like it isn’t a big deal. Because our drills aren’t announced and therefore could be fires. (We actually have an average of one real, serious fire every two years, last years was electrical and a girl’s room was destroyed, a few years ago they gutted two floors of the building I live in now.)

Sorry, it’s a pet peeve of mine. I’m the granddaughter/niece of half a dozen firefighters (with chiefs, deputy chiefs, board of directors members, and a founder of the rescue squad among them). I was raised to GO. It was only after half a dozen false alarms that I learned to grab a coat and my keys/school ID. I guess it says something about me that I’m more willing to grab my fish than I am a coat, huh?

Oh, and living on the 15th floor during fire drills also stinks. 15 flights of stairs. At least we get the elevator on the way up, right?

Leave a Reply

Categories

