Posted by: epsyck | October 7, 2008

Wow…it’s been a long time, huh?

There have been A LOT of changes over the past couple months, which is why I haven’t really been keeping up with my knitting blog (heck…haven’t really been keeping up with my personal blog either).

But let’s see:
-I graduated with a B.A. in Russian Regional Studies with a minor in Political Science at the end of May.
-I turned 22 two days later in the middle of a gigantic move out of NYC.
-I spent the summer working as a camp counselor up in Maine (the camp I worked at had drop spindles…and looms…and they used to have spinning wheels but apparently they were damaged in a flood).
-Moved to Pittsburgh, PA a few days after I got back from Maine.
-Started up graduate school a few days after I moved to Pittsburgh…

Anyway, I’m now in a masters program for library science (aka library school), working as an intern at the main reference desk in the university’s library system, and loving every minute of being a giant bibliophile. I have an adorable apartment with a girl I went to college with (she’s a history teacher) and I’ve started dated a really nice guy (ironically…he’s a nuclear engineer…yup, same as my former fiance…who coincidentally is interviewing at my current boyfriend’s company today…small world?).

I’m just getting everything unpacked and put away, having been slowed down by a broken toe. It sounds like nothing…but being me I went all out and managed to crush part of the bone, breaking it in 3 or 4 places. I’m going to try to get a copy of my xrays to use for christmas cards (half the family are nurses, and a good portion of the other half are firefighters…I swear in my family this would be taken as a hilarious joke).

While I was up in maine I visited only one yarn shop (thank god…considering how much I spent there) – Seaport Yarns up in Portland. I got some lace weight and a book to work on a shawl, but more importantly I bought a BEAUTIFUL skein of locally produced and dyed worsted wool in reds and greens. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it yet (it doesn’t match anything I own) but it was just TOO BEAUTIFUL to leave on the shelf. Actually, I haven’t been knitting lately as things have been a bit crazy, but now that they’re settling down I’m going to restart. Today (after I finish the assignment I’m procrastinating on to write this) I’m going to get a couple more rows on the super complicated lace piece I’m working on, and then maybe start thinking of something to do with my beautiful maine yarn.

Leave a Reply

Categories

